Daily Prompt: Candle

via Daily Prompt: Candle

My grandmother told me you light a candle

every night, to light the way for the lost,

the souls of the ones we love,

who struggle to find their way back home.

She lit one with a match and placed it

on the windowsill, and I began to wonder,

was it to show them the way home,

or was it because of fear of the dark?

Years later, I was the one lighting the candle,

and I was hoping she would find her way home,

so, just for a brief moment, I would see her again.

 

Candle

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Candle”

Leave a Reply

