Daily Prompt: Millions

via Daily Prompt: Millions

When I was seven, I told my mom I’d be rich,

giant buildings in large cities

with my name at the top,

my office overlooking my vast empire,

and I’d have a bank account, with so many zeros.

When I was seventeen, I told my mom I’d be rich,

pre-med and general education,

and in eight years, I’d care for the sick,

and when they got better, I’d be recognized as the best,

and I’d have a bank account, with so many zeros.

When I was twenty-seven, I told my mom I’d be rich,

investing in a multitude of stocks,

watching the upticks and the highs and lows,

picking just the right ones,

and I’d have a bank account, with so many zeros.

When he was seven minutes old, I told my mom I was rich,

as he lay perfectly still in my arms, eyes closed,

a perfect little copy of me, his heart beating ever so softly,

I held his tiny hand in mine, and he grasped tightly,

and I didn’t need a bank account with so many zeros,

all I wanted were millions of years, to spend with my son.

Millions

Leave a Reply

