Daily Prompt: Volunteer

via Daily Prompt: Volunteer

You made the choice, like a volunteer,

to be up in the middle of the night,

preparing meals to suppress my hunger.

You knew you’d need to wake up early,

to dress me, feed me, teach me.

You made no promises to love me unconditionally,

but you have, and at my lowest points

you picked me up and told me it would be just fine.

At my best moments, I searched for you in the crowd,

to share with you my happiness,

but you were already smiling, as if my joy was enough.

I tried to become all you said I could be,

trying my best to be a good man– to do what’s right,

hold those doors for others, and give up seats on buses,

to love my wife and children the way you loved me– unconditionally.

Thank you for being my mother.

Volunteer

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Volunteer”

Leave a Reply

