But I am a Fraud

via Daily Prompt: Fraud

I will listen to your gripes,

allow you to vent until there is nothing left

to complain about.

I will bring you coffee when your hands are cold,

offer warm coats from my own cold shoulders

so that you do not freeze.

I will offer you advice when he doesn’t show interest,

explaining things about his plans that I have no clue about,

pretending to be a friend.

But I am a fraud,

I am no friend of yours,

at best an admirer from close up,

at worst obsessed with your very being.

I will go on with this deception,

because I can’t have you,

and because your eyes look past me,

when you’re searching for love.

 

Fraud

2 thoughts on “But I am a Fraud”

Leave a Reply

