Not That Brave

via Daily Prompt: Brave

Can we pretend, for a moment, that I didn’t care for you,

that my heart didn’t hurt when too many days had gone by,

that I didn’t make up excuses to be in the area so I could see you,

that I wasn’t on the verge of tears when you said goodbye?

Can we pretend that your eyes aren’t the most beautiful shade of brown,

that your eye lashes aren’t so perfect that every blink makes me smile,

that your lips look so soft from close up and your smile catches my eye,

that when you speak I fall deeper into love with you?

Can we pretend I never met you?

I’m not brave enough to move forward if all I want is you.

Brave

One thought on “Not That Brave”

Leave a Reply

