Leaving Soon

via Daily Prompt: Mystery

On Monday, she told me she was leaving,

moving away, too far to follow,

too foreign to visit.

She told me it was a personal choice,

something that would make her happy,

and when I expressed sadness,

she said it wasn’t about me.

True.

I tried to be supportive, “That’s good,”

“You’ll love it there,”

“Maybe I can visit you someday.”

She said, “you won’t, but sure,”

I said, “I promise I will,”

knowing I wont,

and it went on and on.

We might have been something special,

we might have found love,

but now it’s all a mystery,

because we won’t have the chance.

Mystery

2 thoughts on “Leaving Soon”

Leave a Reply

